//
you're reading...
Album review, Gig review

Aiden Grimshaw

Aiden Grimshaw @ the Cockpit, Leeds.
Photo: Lucie Henson

I’m sure many people wonder what happens to artists who don’t make it very far in the competition of X-Factor, according to sources Aiden Grimshaw finished 9th, which apparently isn’t very good.

However, whether it’s his quirkiness or his ‘weird’ genre of music, I fell in love with his debut album ‘Misty Eye’. In a way he reminded me of Natasha Khan ‘Bat for Lashes’, who I think is incredible. Aiden appeared in Leeds at The Cockpit on the 28th of September, and I was lucky enough to acquire tickets for myself and a friend.

The only other gigs I have ever been to have been rock and heavy metal, so this was quite an experience, no mosh pits to speak of and many fan girls. Despite this, I have to say it was a very good experience. The passion Aiden puts into his performance is great to see, I feel sometimes artists lose this as they get more successful in the industry.

He had two support acts, Daniel – his guitarist, and Seye – An upcoming Jamaican singer from London; both very good and a nice build up to the main act. I’m glad to say Aiden didn’t disappoint, singing his whole album, incredibly well I must say. Aiden wrote and co-wrote all of his songs and I could tell they meant something to him, which is exciting to see live.

He started the set list with ‘Hold on’ and closed the gig off with ‘Curtain Call’, the first released song on the album. After what we all thought was the end, Aiden came back out to complete an encore, singing a song that did not appear on the album “Chokehold”.

It’s great to see the quick ending of his X-Factor career did not dampen his enthusiasm for what he loves and I for one am very excited to see what else Aiden has in store for the future!

http://www.aidengrimshaw.com/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

